Legacy Awards

The Legacy Award

For pioneering and directing a university entrepreneurship center that created a legacy impact on the field of entrepreneurship

2020 Winners

Patricia (Pat) Henriques Posthumous Legacy Adward Winner

Patricia “Pat” Henriques was an accomplished executive and successful entrepreneur with more than 30 years of experience in strategic business planning, organizational growth, business process re-engineering, and financial management. Early in her career, Pat founded and led Management Alternatives, Inc., growing it from a start-up to an industry-recognized, national leader in corporate relocation management. The company specialized in complex, large-scale, operations-intensive projects throughout the country. Among its most notable projects was the transition of operations of the Pittsburgh International Airport from one location to another in a single night. Pat sold her company in 2002 and founded The Henlee Group, a Washington, D.C. – based consulting practice where she coached and advised executives and entrepreneurs in emerging and high-growth companies. Almost immediately after selling her company, Pat began her work to give back to emerging entrepreneurs. Beginning with her first appointment as an entrepreneur- in-residence at Syracuse University, Pat committed herself to developing and delivering coursework and programs in entrepreneurship with a strong emphasis on venture creation and acceleration. Her appointments at higher education institutions included Babson College, Georgetown University, Oklahoma State University, University of Utah, Simmons College and Syracuse University. A graduate of Connecticut College, Henriques served on numerous community and corporate boards including the Girl Scout Council of the Nation’s Capital and City First Enterprises. Pat passed away on May 17, 2020 after a courageous battle with cancer, surrounded by her husband and extended family.


Dianne Welsh

Hayes Distinguished Chair and Professor of Entrepreneurship; Founder and Director Emeritus of the North Carolina Entrepreneurship Center; Founding Director of the Entrepreneurship Cross-Disciplinary Program at The University of North Carolina at Greensboro; Fulbright-Hall Endowed Professor of Entrepreneurship for Central Europe (2015)


Edward Roberts

David Sarnoff Professor of Management of Technology; Professor, Technological Innovation, Entrepreneurship, and Strategic Management; Founder and Chair, Martin Trust Center for MIT Entrepreneurship; Faculty Director, Martin Trust Center for MIT Entrepreneurship

2019 Winners

Saras Sarasvathy

Paul M. Hammaker Professor in Business Administration

University of Virginia Darden School of Business


Ted Zoller

T.W. Lewis Clinical Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship and Director of the Center for Entrepreneurial Studies

UNC Kenan-Flagler Business School

2018 Winner

Harold P. Welsch

DePaul University

2016 Winner

Donald F. Kuratko

Johnson Center for Entrepreneurship & Innovation

Indiana University – Bloomington

2015 Winner
Tom Malia

Thomas J. (Tom) O’Malia

University of Southern California

2012 Winner

Dr. Rudolph (Rudy) P. Lamone

University of Maryland


Dr. Gary D. Libecap

University of Arizona & University of California-Santa Barbara